bas-rutten-o2-trainer-927x1024So, I had the good fortune to come across this little gem, Bas Rutten’s new O2 trainer.  The idea is that it limits the amount of oxygen you can take into your body by causing you to breath through a little hole, which you can subsequently make smaller as you get in better shape.

I’m sure skinny people love this device in the whole “Let’s make training as hard as possible without killing ourselves” sort of way.  I, on the other hand, happen to have a built-in O2 trainer.  It’s called being fat.  I still remember vividly my first day of Jiu Jitsu, having to run from the mat into the back and get naked in a cold shower in order to avoid passing out.  No fancy breathing apparatus required.

“Training at altitude” for me means standing up.  Just saying.

I do, however, think that the device is a good buy, mostly because I don’t want Bas to hear about this article and subsequently kick my ass….so go buy one.  Seriously, it’s a good idea.

You can find other ways to make training harder, such as eating 100 cheese burgers or asking your partner to kick you in the junk at random times, but this is perhaps the least permanent way to ramp up the intensity.  Fat guy approved.

