Ok, seriously, I don’t even know WTF a spleen is, or how to hurt it….but mine probably hurts.  I’ve done Jiu Jitsu 6 out of the last 7 days.  Overtraining?  Perhaps.  I prefer to think of it as exercising the gremlins.  But, I digress.

People say, “If it hurts, why do you do it?  What’s the point?”  They don’t quite understand where I’m coming from when I say that I want it to hurt.  If it hurts, then I know I’ve sacrificed something for it.  If it was easy, I wouldn’t value it the same way.  Every time I get on the mat I’m fighting against my old, fat body, the little aches and pains from the last time I rolled, the legitimate injuries to my ankle and shoulder from the war, the laziness inside of me that doesn’t want to do anything, and the little voice in my head that says that I’ll never get in shape, never be any good, never win a fight, never even compete.

Oh, and I’m usually fighting against the pain of being so darn good looking.  I feel bad causing the girls to lust.  But I digress again.

Anyway, the point is that when I finally make it and get in shape to fight, I’ve already won. I need to believe that most people my size wouldn’t go through the torture of Jiu Jitsu.  Is torture too strong a word?  I don’t know.  Imagine having 300 lbs land on top of you every time you slam to the mat.  Imagine having 300 lbs slung across your back while you do your fancy little break dancing warmup moves.  That’s what it’s like for me.  But I don’t give a crap if it kills me, I’m going to do it.  Torture or not.

So, today I dislocated my toe, strained my lower back trying to do some handstand B.S., landed on my shoulder funny, and got choked out, arm barred, smothered by a gigantic wildebeest, and my wrist hurts for no explicable reason (insert joke here).  Who cares?  I’m training tomorrow.  Period.

 

